Projects // AUREA (2014)

AUREA (2014)

A solo performance / In collaboration with Susanne Linke

„And the earth was waste and without form; and it was dark on the face of the deep…“

Whilst searching for freedom in limitation and perfection in chaos, Emanuele Soavi and Susanne Linke – icon of dance theatre – use the biblicial beginning and Bach’s piano music as their starting point for an intensely personal performance.

Starting with the  Old Testament’s first lines, Emanuele Soavi developed in collaboration with dancer and choreographer Susanne Linke a research of motions concerning the issue of order, structure and its opposite: chaos.

Every choreography is based on the principle of structure / order – even though it means to deconstruct this very concept. In AUREA Emanuele Soavi tests to what extent the principle of the Golden Ratio (the “Sectio Aurea” is a common technique within the field of arts to measure proportions, an ideal principle of proportioning aesthetics) can be transferred onto his choreographic work during which he always searches for expressions of human living, of conflicts with himself as well as the environment, expressions of an exhausting hunt for the meaning of life. When collaborating with Susanne Linke – who is a master in creating surreal moments through slow and unexpected reactions enabling a very special presence of the performer on stage – this is combined with her clear focus on minimalist movements.

Thus there is a clash of very different choreographic and expressive means, but also divergent concepts of structure and beauty which often are the result of a perfect composition.

The music by Bach also finds beauty in perfect order due to its mathematical structure. Played live it creates various possibilities of interaction between pianist Thomas Wansing and performer Emanuele Soavi.

AUREA marks the beginning of a long-term series of events, THE HABIT CYCLES, which literally implements the label’s artistic and programmatic philosophy: ‘in company’ with national and international dance artists, Emanuele Soavi begins a structural and thematic research of motions.

Idea/Choreography/Performance: Emanuele Soavi
Direction /Coaching: Susanne Linke
Lighting design: Cristina Spelti
Live music: Thomas Wansing
Management / PR: Alexandra Schmidt
Production Management / PR: Silvia Werner
Technical Management: Michael Götz
Photos: Mustafa Sabbagh, Joris-Jan Bos

A dance project by Emanuele Soavi incompany, subsidized by the Cultural Office of Cologne, the SK Stiftung Kultur and the NRW Ministry for Families, Children, Youth, Culture and Sports.

Projekte // AUREA (2014)

AUREA (2014)

Eine Soloperformance / In Zusammenarbeit mit Susanne Linke

„Und die Erde war wüst und leer, und es war finster auf der Tiefe …“

Auf der Suche nach Freiheit in der Begrenzung und Perfektion im Chaos, nutzen Emanuele Soavi und Susanne Linke, eine Ikone des Tanztheaters, den biblischen Anfang und Bachs Klaviermusik als Ausgangspunkt für eine sehr persönliche Performance.

Von den ersten Zeilen des Alten Testaments ausgehend, entwickelt Emanuele Soavi gemeinsam mit der Tänzerin und Choreographin Susanne Linke eine Bewegungsrecherche zum Thema Ordnung, Struktur und dem Gegenteil davon: Chaos.

Jede Choreographie ist getragen von einem Prinzip der Struktur bzw. Ordnung, auch wenn sie die Dekonstruktion desselben meint. In AUREA überprüft Soavi die Übertragbarkeit des Prinzips des Goldenen Schnitts – die „Sectio Aurea“ ist ein in der Kunst übliches Verfahren der Anordnung von Verhältnissen, ein ideales Prinzip ästhetischer Proportionierung – auf seine choreographische Arbeit, die nach dem Ausdruck für menschliche Lebensweisen, für Konflikte mit sich selbst und der Umwelt, für die ermüdende Jagd nach dem Sinn und der Bedeutung des Lebens sucht. Diese verbindet sich in der Zusammenarbeit  mit Susanne Linke – einer Meisterin in der Erschaffung von surrealen Momenten durch langsame und unerwartete Reaktionen, die eine ganz besondere Präsenz des Performers auf der Bühne erzeugen – mit deren Fokus auf Klarheit und Minimalismus in der Bewegung.

So treffen sehr unterschiedliche Choreographie- und Ausdrucksweisen aufeinander, aber auch divergierende Konzepte von Struktur und Schönheit, die meist das Ergebnis einer perfekten Komposition ist.

Auch die Musik Bachs sucht und findet durch die mathematische Struktur Schönheit in der perfekten Ordnung. Live gespielt, eröffnen sich feinst abgestimmte Interaktionsmöglichkeiten zwischen dem Pianisten Thomas Wansing und und dem Performer Emanuele Soavi.

Mit AUREA startet Soavi eine neue, auf mehrere Jahre angelegte Reihe unter dem Titel THE HABIT CYCLES, in der die künstlerische und programmatische Philosophie des Labels  Emanuele Soavi incompany ihre direkte Umsetzung findet: ‘in company’ mit nationalen und internationalen TanzkünstlerInnen begibt sich Emanuele Soavi auf eine Struktur-, Themen- und Bewegungsrecherche.

Idee/Choreographie/Performance: Emanuele Soavi
Regie/Coaching: Susanne Linke
Lichtdesign: Cristina Spelti
Live-Musik: Thomas Wansing
Management / Presse-Öffentlichkeitsarbeit: Alexandra Schmidt
Produktionsleitung: Silvia Werner
Technische Produktionsleitung: Michael Götz
Fotos: Mustafa Sabbagh, Joris-Jan Bos

Ein Tanzprojekt von Emanuele Soavi incompany, gefördert durch das Kulturamt der Stadt Köln, der SK Stiftung Kultur und dem Ministerium für Familie, Kinder, Jugend, Kultur und Sport des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen.