Projects // ANIMA (2017)

postcard-anima-tittle

ANIMA (2017)

A site-specific performance about presence, absence and other in-between states 

After AUREA, PARADISUS? and LVMEN, ANIMA is the fourth project of THE HABIT CYCLES. This time Emanuele Soavi collaborates with Spanish video and performance artist Meritxell Aumedes Molinero, who is based in Gothenburg and Berlin. Together they explore what has always been and might forever be: the soul – Anima.

ANIMA wants to redefine the relation between the human body and what exists beyond muscles, tendons, blood and bones, while questioning the boundaries of the virtual and the spiritual, the real and the fictional. A fictitious yet concrete universe embedded in individual hotel rooms, an intrinsic, transient location, a place for constant change, which reflects the ephemeral connection of body and soul.

During the past years Meritxell Aumedes has established herself in the field of site-specific performances with productions such as UNTOLD STORIES and INHABITANT. Beyond the traditional theatre spaces her filmic and performative works create new ways of experiencing, immersing the audience in the specific architecture and functionality of a location.

The first set of performances will be located in Gothenburg, Cologne and Munich. The performance will be adapted to all site-specific circumstances, thus, for each venue,
it will be slightly different. The narrow space allows for unusual intimacy and turns the audience into accomplices of the event. Different stations make for different beginnings every hour. This tight schedule and a strictly limited amount of viewers require the purchase of tickets for a specific starting time beforehand.

Book now!

In Gothenburg the boat hotel Barken Viking will host the pre-premiere on 22 & 23 April, 2017
In Cologne the new THE MIDTOWN HOTEL will host the premiere on 16 June and further performances on 17 & 18 June, 2017
In Munich the Hotel Olympic will host performances on 1 & 2 July, 2017

www.hotel-olympic.de //www.barkenviking.com // www.thenewyorker.de 

By and with Meritxell Aumedes Molinero and Emanuele Soavi

Video: Meritxell Aumedes Molinero
Assistant: Lisa Kirsch
Project Management: Achim Conrad, Lisa Kirsch
Communication / PR: Silvia Werner
Management / PR: Alexandra Schmidt

Subsidized by: City of Cologne, Kunststiftung NRW, the Ministry for Family, Children, Youth, Culture and Sports of the state North Rhine-Westphalia
Supported by: Vitlycke – centre of performing arts in Tanumshede / Sweden (rehearsal residency)

Projekte // ANIMA (2017)

postcard-anima-tittle

ANIMA (2017)

Eine site-specific Performance über die Anwesenheit, die Abwesenheit und andere Entfernungen

ANIMA ist nach AUREA, PARADISUS? und LVMEN das vierte Projekt der Reihe THE HABIT CYCLES. Diesmal widmet sich Emanuele Soavi gemeinsam mit der spanischen, in Göteborg und Berlin lebenden Video- und Performancekünstlerin Meritxell Aumedes Molinero dem, was vielleicht schon immer da gewesen ist und vielleicht immer da sein wird: der Seele – Anima.

ANIMA möchte die Beziehung zwischen dem menschlichen Körper und dem, was jenseits von Muskeln, Sehnen, Blut und Knochen existiert neu definieren. Es möchte untersuchen, wo die virtuelle, spirituelle Welt beginnt und wo sie endet. Und es wählt für sein fiktives, aber greifbares Universum das Hotel, dessen einzelne Zimmer Orte des ständigen Wechsels und Wandels sind, Sinnbilder für die kurzlebige Verbindung von Körper und Seele.

Meritxell Aumedes hat sich mit Werken wie UNTOLD STORIES und INHABITANT in den letzten Jahren auf dem Feld der Site-specific Performances etabliert. Außerhalb traditioneller Bühnenräume sucht sie in ihren filmisch-performativen Arbeiten neue Wege der Einbindung des Publikums und der kreativen Auseinandersetzung mit den sozialen und kulturellen Konnotationen sowie der Architektur und Funktionalität des jeweiligen Ortes.

Die erste Runde führt in Hotels in Göteborg, Köln und München. Die Performance nimmt die spezifischen Gegebenheiten auf und wird so für jeden Spielort neu adaptiert. Der begrenzte Raum ermöglicht ungewohnte Intimität und macht die Zuschauer zu Komplizen des Geschehens. Unterschiedliche Stationen ermöglichen jede Stunde einen neuen Start. Die enge Taktung und die jeweilige Zuschauerbegrenzung erfordert Ticketkauf mit spezifischer Startzeit im Voraus.

Buchen Sie jetzt!

In Göteborg beherbergt das Hotelboot Barken Viking die Vorpremiere am 22. und 23. April 2017
In Köln beherbergt das brandneue THE MIDTOWN HOTEL die Premiere am 16., 17. und 18. Juni 2017
In München beherbergt das Hotel Olympic Vorstellungen am 1. und 2. Juli 2017

www.hotel-olympic.de //www.barkenviking.com // www.thenewyorker.de 

Von und mit Meritxell Aumedes Molinero und Emanuele Soavi

Video: Meritxell Aumedes Molinero
Assistenz: Lisa Kirsch
Projektleitung: Achim Conrad, Lisa Kirsch
Kommunikation / PR: Silvia Werner
Management / PR: Alexandra Schmidt

Gefördert von: Kulturamt der Stadt Köln, Kunststiftung NRW, Ministerium für Familie, Kinder, Jugend, Kultur und Sport des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen
Unterstützt von: Vitlycke – centre of performing arts in Tanumshede / Sweden (Probenresidenz)